‘Pasieczny-Watson Duo’ in concert; Szczecin, Zamek Książąt Pomorskich, sala Anny Jagiellonki 9.03.2008. In program also new Pasieczny’s arr. and works by Bartok, Part, MacDonald, Ysaye.

click here to listen excerpts from Six Folk Melodies

marek pasieczny

Marek Pasieczny-guitar, Ian Watson-violin

marek pasiecznymarek pasiecznymarek pasiecznymarek pasiecznymarek pasiecznymarek pasiecznymarek pasiecznymarek pasieczny
page 1 of 1


SIX FOLK MELODIES Originally written for trio (guit.violin and cello) for the PLUG Festival in Glasgow,UK but arranged for duo. Based on original folk melodies from the part of Poland called Zamojszczyzna (my home land). Each movement is short and quite easy technically but very effective due to a great deal of internal energy built into a small framework. They are similar in concept to W.Lutoslawski arr.by J.Bream pieces for solo guitar. They are alsoSimilar in mood to the popular Romanian Folk Dances by B.Bartok (for guitar and flute/violin). Combination guitar/violin is extremely popular. A lot of guitarists here in UK and in Poland asked me to write something ‘polish’ and easy for this duo. Because of the popularity of this combinations of instruments, and probably because of ‘fatigue’ of playing same repertoire by guitarists all the time (Piazzolla’s History of the Tango, mentioned B.Bartok etc.), that can be nice and ‘fresh’ choice for guitarists who is playing with violinists.

Posted by Marek Pasieczny, filed under Concerts. Date: March 12, 2008, 4:59 pm | No Comments »

Leave a Comment

Your comment

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.